Bathurst Region - Live, Visit, Invest, Study

Further Information

Home > VISIT BATHURST > Motor Racing > Further Information

Mount Panorama Trivia

  • Motor cycle racing commenced on Mount Panorama in 1938 continuing to 1940 when the war stopped all motor sport. 
  • Initial cost of building the circuit and parklands was £30,000.
  • Motor cycles returned to the Mount in 1946 and continued to race until the 1980s. 
  • In 2000 motor cycle racing was resurrected for one last time.
  • Channel 7 commenced telecasts from the circuit in 1963 with just 3 cameras. Nowadays at least 116 cameras cover the track, the pits, incar and even under cars.
  • There was no outright winner in the 1963 Bathurst 500 only winners in each of 4 classes. History shows that the race winner was actually Harry Firth & Bob Jane who were entered in Class C. Teams consisted of just 2 time keepers & 2 pit crew.
  • First GT Falcon unveiled 1967.
  • GMH & Ford had their first showdown in 1968.
  • Peter Brock won his first endurance race in 1972 in an XU-1 Torana.
  • First Bathurst 1000km race over 163 laps took place in 1973.
  • In 1976 motor racing legends Sir Jack Brabham & Stirling Moss stalled at the start and were wiped out.
  • In 1977 Ford drivers Allan Moffat & Colin Bond took out 1st & 2nd crossing the finish line in formation.
  • 1978 saw the birth of Hardie's Heroes qualifying session. Peter Brock claimed pole position & $10,000 prize money.
  • Only half the field finished in 1979 with Peter Brock & Jim Richards winning by 6 laps.
  • Dick Johnson was taken out of the race by ‘the rock' in 1980. Television viewers and fans raised $36,000 towards a new car.
  • Peter Brock won his 8th Great Race in 1984, blowing the lap record apart and breaking the 100mph lap barrier for the first time.
  • In 1999 & 2000 the race was held on the 2nd weekend of November.
  • The record for the most wins is held by the late Peter Brock. When he died in 2006 thousands of fans flocked to Mount Panorama to leave messages on the wall at Brock's Skyline.
  • Holden has won more times at the Mount than Ford.
  • Jim Richards has recorded the most starts at Mount Panorama with a total of 27.
  • In 2006 the NSW State Govt amended the Mount Panorama Motor Racing Act to allow 5 meetings or associated events to take place on the circuit annually.
  • March 2011 saw the Formula 1 McLaren of Jenson Button lap the race track in a time of 1:48:88-the fastest time ever recorded but not an official record as this was only a promotional event.